Optometry Program

Table of Contents


Click for Answers to Frequently Asked Questions


Apply and Renew Online: BreEZe

The Board uses an online platform called BreEZe for all licensing applications, forms and account maintenance. To prevent errors, it is strongly recommended you use a desktop computer with Internet Explorer to access BreEZe. For the following actions, please visit the BreEZe website:

  • Apply for a California Optometrist License
  • Renew an existing Optometrist License
  • Statement of Licensure (SOL)
  • Primary Open Angle Glaucoma and Lacrimal Irrigation and Dilation Certification
  • Order New Certificate
  • Request a Replacement or Duplicate Certificate
  • Address Change
  • Name Change
  • Basic information changes

If you are experiencing technical difficulties with BreEZe, please contact the BreEZe Help Desk at (916) 557-1208 or BreEZe@dca.ca.gov with questions related to:

  • Registration
  • Password Resets
  • Account Unlocks
  • Linking licenses to your accounts
  • BreEZe Error Messages

Back to top


New Optometrist Applicants

Frequently Asked Questions

Step 1: Register for the California Laws and Regulations Exam on BreEZe

Step 2: Review the California Laws and Regulations Exam handbook (CLRE)

Step 3: Upon passing the California Laws and Regulations Exam (CLRE), you must complete the remainder of your online application on BreEZe.

Application Processing Times

Updated as of 3/7/2022

Application Type Processing Time
Optometrist 6 - 8 weeks
Statement of Licensure Automated in BreEZe
Fictitious Name Permits 12-14 weeks

*Please note: processing times may increase if required items (such as transcripts, livescan, photos, etc) are not submitted at the time of initial application. Incomplete applications will generate deficiency letters requiring applications to submit missing documentation. Applicants should respond promptly to avoid delay in processing times.

**Please note: processing times may increase during Optometry School graduation periods.

Back to top


Current Optometrist Licensees

Implementation of AB 691 - Optometrists Administering Immunizations - Implementation of AB 691

Continuing Education

Fictitious Name Permits

Glaucoma Certification Information

Fees

Optometry License

Initial License Application $275.00
Biennial License Renewal $451.00*
Delinquent License Renewal $50.00
Duplicate Wall Certificate $25.00

Fictitious Name Permit (FNP)
FNP Application Fee $50.00
FNP Renewal $50.00
FNP Delinquent Renewal $25.00

Statement of Licensure (SOL)
SOL Application Fee $40.00
SOL Renewal $40.00
SOL Delinquent Renewal $20.00

Other Fees
Therapeutic Pharmaceutical Agents Certification $25.00
Glaucoma Certification $35.00
Lacrimal Irrigation and Dilation Certification $25.00
Continuing Education Course Approval $50.00
Retired License Application $25.00
Retired/Volunteer Application $50.00
Retired/Volunteer Renewal $50.00
License Verifications $40.00

*This does not include CURES or NPDB fees.

Information for Military Personnel

Laws and Regulations

Closing Your Optometric Practice

Back to top


For Consumers and Patients

Prescription Notice
The United States Federal Trade Commission enforces the Eyeglass Rule and Contact Lens Rule, which give you the right to get a prescription from your eye doctor whether you ask for it or not at no extra charge. Additionally California Business and Professions Code sections 2540 - 2545 detail the information required for a valid prescription.

Registration Search
Ensure that your Optometrist is licensed and in compliance with the regulations governing good practice in patient care.

Back to top