

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY · GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834 P (916) 575-7170 | Toll-Free (866) 585-2666 | www.optometry.ca.gov



FAQ for Submittal of Continuing Education Course Approvals

We are here to help you with your continuing education (CE) course approval questions. If you have any questions about the process, please email Kristina Eklund at: <u>kristina.eklund@dca.ca.gov</u> or call the Board at 916-575-7170.

The Board encourages applicants to review the <u>California Code of Regulations (CCR) Section</u> <u>1536</u> for a detailed description of the requirements.

1. Is there an application and if so, where can I find it?

The Continuing Education Course Approval Application can be found on our website.

2. Does the course have to open to ALL optometrists?

Yes. Under CCR Section 1536 (g), the law requires that CE courses be open to all California licensed optometrists (within your seating capacity).

3. Who is the Provider? Whose information do I enter in the "Provider" fields?

The provider is the person who is submitting the application package, but not necessarily the speaker/lecturer. Please include an email and phone number for the provider.

4. What do I do if there is more than one speaker? Do I submit a separate application for each instructor/speaker?

Do not submit a separate application for each speaker <u>unless</u> the course title has changed with each speaker. Multiple applications are submitted by course topics, not by instructor. For multiple speakers of the <u>same topic</u>, include an instructor <u>list</u> complete with their names and license numbers.

5. How are the number of CE hours calculated? What is considered for one hour?

Under CCR Section 1536(d), one hour of CE credit cannot be less than 50 minutes of lecture time.

6. Are the hours calculated in 15-minute increments (i.e. 1.5 hours, 2.25 hours)?

Yes, you may calculate your hours in 15-minute increments.

7. Is an event considered one course?

No. Courses are defined by course topic and not by the event. Each topic needs its own application, mandatory fee and all supporting documentation.

8. What is the processing time? How far in advance do I need to submit my application?

You should submit your application at least 45 days before the start date of your first presentation (indicated on the application) for approval by the Board's Practice and Education Committee.

9. How often does the Practice and Education Committee meet?

The Committee attempts to meet quarterly but may meet more often if necessary. Agendas and materials <u>can be found here</u>.



BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY · GAMIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105, Sacramento, CA 95834 P (916) 575-7170 | Toll-Free (866) 585-2666 | www.optometry.ca.gov



10. What supporting documentation needs to be submitted?

The application package needs to contain all supporting documentation which should be submitted in the following order:

- Application with topic title in the "Course Title" field.
- Copy of Payment
- Hours Requested and the Category
- Course Schedule
- Topical Course Outline or Presentation Materials
- Curriculum Vitae (for each instructor/lecturer)

11. What if my application is not approved before the presentation start date? Can I get retroactive approval? What do I tell my attendees?

You may receive a retroactive approval and you may tell your attendees that approval is pending; however, you cannot provide certificates until the course is approved with an approval number issued by the Board. All certificates must contain the approval number and may <u>NOT</u> state: "approval pending."

12. Where and to whom do I send the application package?

Please <u>email</u> the entire application package which consists of all documents stated in number 10 to Kristina Eklund: <u>kristina.eklund@dca.ca.gov</u>.

Upon emailing the application package, please <u>mail</u> a copy of the application page and check to:

California Board of Optometry Attention: Kristina Eklund 2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 105 Sacramento, CA 95834.